Committee Reports::Report - Appropriation Accounts 1962 - 1963::14 May, 1964::Proceedings of the Joint Committee


Proceedings of the Committee

Déardaoin, 14 Bealtaine, 1964.

Thursday, 14th May, 1964.

1. The Committee met at 11 a.m.

2. Members Present.

The following members were present:—

Deputy Jones (in the Chair), Deputies Booth, Carter, Clinton, Cunningham, Patrick Hogan (South Tipperary) and Lalor.

3. The Committee deliberated.

4. Consideration of Appropriation Accounts, 1962-63.

Consideration of Appropriation Accounts for the year 1962-63 was begun. The following Accounts were disposed of:—President’s Establishment, Houses of the Oireachtas, Department of the Taoiseach, Central Statistics Office, Office of the Minister for Finance, State Laboratory, Civil Service Commission, An Chomhairle Ealaíon, Superannuation and Retired Allowances, Secret Service, Expenses under the Electoral Act and the Juries Act, Agricultural Grants, Law Charges, Miscellaneous Expenses, Increases in Pensions, Repayments to Contingency Fund, Charitable Donations and Bequests, Office of the Minister for Justice, Garda Síochána, Prisons, Courts of Justice, Land Registry and Registry of Deeds, External Affairs and International Cooperation.

5. Witnesses Examined.

Mr. T. K. Whitaker (Secretary, Department of Finance), Mr. J. S. Martin (Secretary, Commissioners of Charitable Donations and Bequests), Mr. P. Berry (Secretary, Department of Justice), Mr. H. J. McCann (Secretary, Department of External Affairs) and the Comptroller and Auditor General were examined.

6. Adjournment.

The Committee adjourned at 12.40 p.m. until 11 a.m. on Thursday next.