Committee Reports::Report - Appropriation Accounts 1951 - 1952::25 June, 1953::Proceedings of the Joint Committee



Déardaoin, 25ú Meitheamh, 1953.

Thursday, 25th June, 1953.

1. The Committee met at 11 a.m.

2. Members Present.

The following members were present:—

Deputies P. A. Brady, Carter, Mrs. Crowley, Cunningham, M. E. Dockrell, Ormonde, Palmer and Sheldon.

3. Election of Chairman.

Deputy Palmer moved:—

“That Deputy Sheldon be Chairman of the Committee.”

Question put, and agreed to.

Deputy Sheldon took the Chair accordingly.

4. Consideration of Appropriation Accounts, 1951-52.

Consideration of the Appropriation Accounts for the year 1951-52 was begun. The following Accounts were disposed of:—President’s Establishment, Houses of the Oireachtas, Department of the Taoiseach, Central Statistics Office, Office of the Minister for Finance, Management of Government Stocks, State Laboratory, Civil Service Commission, Irish Tourist Board, Commissions and Special Inquiries, Superannuation and Retired Allowances, Rates on Government Property, Secret Service, Expenses under the Electoral Act and the Juries Act, Supplementary Agricultural Grants, Law Charges, Universities and Colleges, Miscellaneous Expenses, Technical Assistance, Increases in Remuneration, Oifig na Gaeltachta agus na gCeantar gCúng, An Chomhairle Ealaíon, Repayments to Contingency Fund, Stationery and Printing, Office of the Minister for Justice, Garda Síochána, Prisons, District Court, Circuit Court, Supreme Court and High Court of Justice and Land Registry and Registry of Deeds.

5. Witnesses Examined.

Mr. O. J. Redmond (Secretary, Department of Finance), Mr. J. B. Carr (Controller, Stationery Office), Mr. T. J. Coyne (Secretary, Department of Justice), Mr. P. M. Clarke (Department of Finance) and the Comptroller and Auditor General were examined.

6. Adjournment.

The Committee adjourned at 1 p.m. until Wednesday, 8th July.