Committee Reports::Annual Report of the Joint Committee on Communications, Marine and Natural Resources, 2006::09 January, 2007::Appendix

Appendix 1a

Joint Committee on Communications, Marine and Natural Resources

Order Establishing a sub-Committee 27 November 2002


(a)a sub-Committee (to be called the sub-Committee on Information Communication Technology) be established to consider issues in relation to information communications technology which are referred to it, from time to time, by the Joint Committee

(b)the sub-Committee shall report to the main Committee not later than three months from the date of any matter being referred to it ;.

(c)the sub-Committee shall consist of 7 Members:

(d)the quorum of the sub-Committee shall be three,

(e)in relation to the matters specifically referred to it in paragraph (a) above, the sub-Committee shall have only those functions of the Joint Committee which are set out in sub-paragraphs (2)(a)(i) and (ii) (Dáil) and in sub-paragraphs (1)(a)(i) and (ii) (Seanad) of the Joint Committee’s Orders of Reference1;

(f)the sub-Committee shall have all the powers of the Joint Committee, namely, those contained in Standing Order 81(1), (2) and (4) to (9) (Dáil) and in Standing Order 65 (1), (2) and (4) to (9) (Seanad)2: provided that the powers to print and publish evidence, to travel and to engage persons with specialist or technical knowledge shall, in each case, be subject to the approval of the Joint Committee.”

1Key to subparagraphs of main Committee’s Orders of Reference referred to: (i)= public affairs administered by Departments; (ii)=matters of policy under Ministers’ responsibility; (iii)=bodies which are partly or wholly funded by the State; (iv)=Statutory instruments; (v)=EU Legislation (vi)=Strategy Statements (vii)=Annual reports required by law to be laid before the houses (viii)=other matters referred by the Dáil/Seanad.

2Key to paragraphs of Dáil/Seanad Standing Orders referred to: (1)= take evidence; (2)= invite submissions; (3)=establish sub-committees; (4)=draft legislative change; (5),(6)=meet Ministers re policy/proposed legislation; (7)=meet principal office holders in State Bodies; (8)= consultants; (9)=travel.