Committee Reports::Report - Enlargement of the European Union::22 March, 2002::Appendix

Appendix Two

Joint Committee on European Affairs

Orders of Reference

(1)(a) That a Select Committee, which shall be called the Select Committee on European Affairs, consisting of 14 members of Dáil Éireann (of whom 4 shall constitute a quorum), be appointed to consider such -

(i)Bills, the statute law in respect of which is dealt with by the Department of Foreign Affairs, and

(ii)Proposals contained in any motion, including any motion within the meaning of Standing Order 149(A) concerning the approval by the Dáil of international agreements involving a charge on public funds,

as shall be referred to it by Dáil Éireann from time to time.

(b)For the purpose of its consideration of Bills under paragraph (1)(a), the Select Committee shall have the powers defined in Standing Order 78A(1), (2) and (3).

(c)For the avoidance of doubt, by virtue of his or her ex officio membership of the Select Committee in accordance with Standing Order 84(1), the Minister for Foreign Affairs (or a Minister or Minister of State nominated in his or her stead) shall be entitled to vote.



The Select Committee shall be joined with a Select Committee to be appointed by Seanad Éireann to form the Joint Committee on European Affairs to-

(i)consider such matters arising from Ireland’s membership of the European Communities and its adherence to the Treaty on European Union, as it may select,

(ii)consider such-

(I)programmes and guidelines prepared by the Commission of the European Communities as a basis for possible legislative action and such drafts of regulations, directives, decisions, recommendations and opinions of the Council of Ministers proposed by the Commission,

(II)acts of the institutions of those Communities,

(III)regulations under the European Communities Acts, 1972 to 1995,

(IV)other instruments made under statute and necessitated by the obligations of membership of those Communities,

as it may select,

(iii)consider such other matters as may be jointly referred to it from time to time by both Houses of the Oireachtas, and

(iv)represent the Houses of the Oireachtas at the Conference of European Affairs Committees (COSAC),

and shall report thereon to both Houses of the Oireachtas.

(b)The quorum of the Joint Committee shall be 5, of whom at least 1 shall be a member of Dáil Éireann and 1 a member of Seanad Éireann.

(c)The Joint Committee shall have the following powers:

(i)the powers defined in Standing Order 78A(1) to (9) inclusive, and

(ii)the power to refer to a proposal for EU legislation which has been considered by it (and which has been concluded to be of sufficient national importance to require further scrutiny) to a Select Committee on which has been conferred the power defined in Standing Order 78A(4) to consider such proposals.

(d)The following persons may attend meetings of the Joint Committee and of its sub-Committees and may take part in proceedings without having a right to vote or to move motions and amendments:

(i)members of the European Parliament elected from constituencies in Ireland (including Northern Ireland),

(ii)members of the Irish delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, and

(iii)at the invitation of the Joint Committee or of a sub-Committee, as appropriate, other Members of the European Parliament.

(3)The Chairman of the Joint Committee, who shall be a member of Dáil Éireann, shall also be Chairman of the Select Committee.