Committee Reports::Report - Appropriation Accounts 1960 - 1961::01 March, 1962::Proceedings of the Joint Committee



Déardaoin, 1 Márta, 1962.

Thursday, 1st March, 1962.

1. The Committee met at 11 a.m.

2. Members Present.

The following members were present:—

Deputies Belton, Booth, Carter, Clinton, Cunningham, Desmond, Nicholas Egan, Jones, Kenny, Sherwin and Treacy.

3. Election of Chairman.

Motion made (Deputy Carter):

“That Deputy Jones be Chairman of the Committee”.

Question put, and agreed to.

Deputy Jones took the Chair accordingly.

4. The Committee deliberated.

5. Consideration of Appropriation Accounts, 1960-61.

Consideration of Appropriation Accounts for the year 1960-61 was begun. The following Accounts were disposed of:—President’s Establishment, Houses of the Oireachtas, Department of the Taoiseach, Central Statistics Office, Office of the Minister for Finance, State Laboratory, Civil Service Commission, An Chomhairle Ealaíon, Superannuation and Retired Allowances, Secret Service, Expenses under the Electoral Act and the Juries Act, Supplementary Agricultural Grants, Law Charges, Miscellaneous Expenses, Increases in Pensions, Contingency Fund Deposit Account and Office of the Revenue Commissioners.

6. Witnesses Examined.

Mr. T. K. Whitaker (Secretary, Department of Finance), Mr. S. Réamonn (Chairman, Revenue Commissioners), Mr. L. V. O’Neill (Department of Finance), and the Secretary and Director of Audit were examined.

7. Adjournment.

The Committee adjourned at 12.20 p.m. until 11 a.m. on Thursday next.