Committee Reports::Report - Appointment of Committee on Procedure::05 March, 1923::Report


Tuarasgabháil ón gCoiste um Nós-Imeachta.

(Report of Committee on Procedure).

This Committee was appointed by resolution of Dáil Eireann adopted the 17th November, 1922, in the following terms:—

“That in accodance with Standing Order No. 11, a Committee on Procedure be appointed, to consist of nine Deputies, five being of the Ministerial Party, two of the Labour Party, one of the Farmer’s Party, and one from the group of Independents, the Ceann Comhairle to be Chairman of the Committee: Further, that the Committee on Procedure frame such additions or amendments to the Standing Orders as may be necessary.”

It was likewise agreed that each Party should nominate its own quota of the Committee and notify the names to the Ceann Comhairle accordingly, Power was given to each Deputy to provide a substitute when he was unable himself to attend.

The following Deputies were nominated: MacCarthy, Hughes, Dolan, FitzGibbon, Johnson, O’Brien, Rooney and A. Byrne.

The Committee met on nine teen occasions and took into consideration the Standing Orders temporarily adopted on the 6th December, 1922.

It was decided that it was necessary to add two important sections dealing with Financial Procedure, and Communication with Seanad Eireann. This was accordingly done, and the results are herewith submitted for approval.

In pursuance of the reference contained in the above resolution to make any amendments necessary in the Standing Orders, the Committee thoroughly examined these orders and submit herewith for approval the text of various amendments and amplifications of the subjects treated in them.

The Committee is of opinion that, so far as Public Business is concerned, the Standing Orders as now enlarged and amended contain rules covering every immediate requirement. In the matter of Private Bills the terms of reference were sufficiently wide to cover them, but, inasmuch as the matters dealt with in the Standing Orders now presented are urgent, the Committee has thought it best to submit at once the result of its labours up to this date.

Consequent on the following resolution, passed by Dáil Eireann on January 19th, 1923:—

“That the Seanad be requested to authorise the Cathaoirleach and any other member or members that the Seanad may nominate to discuss with the Ceann Comhairle and the President of the Executive Council the matter of future appointments to the Staffs of both Houses. That, in the meantime the consideration of the memorandum of the Minister of Finance and of the residue of the Reports of the Seanad Committee be deferred,”.

a conference was held between the Ceann Comhairle and the following Senators: Lord Glenavy (Cathaoirleach), Douglas (Leas-Cathaoirleach), Jameson, and Kenny. It was agreed to appoint a Counsel to draw up Standing Orders on Private Bills, these Standing Orders to be as far as possible the same for both Houses. It was further agreed that the Ceann Comhairle, the Cathaoirleach of the Seanad, and the Law Officer to the Ministry (Mr. Kennedy) should confer with a view to nominating such Counsel as aforesaid. In consequence, Mr. Philip A. O’C. White, B.L., was nominated, and is now engaged in drawing up a draft of Standing Orders on Private Bills. These Standing Orders will be ready at an early date and will be submitted to this Committee and to Dáil Eireann.


Ceann Comhairle.

5adh Márta, 1923